Culturing Science – biology as relevant to us earthly beings

State of the Blog Address: January 2011

Last week, the selections for Open Lab, an annual collection of the best science writing on the web, were announced by this year’s editor, Jason Goldman of The Thoughtful Animal.  I’m ecstatic to announce that I somehow squirmed my way onto the list with my post on cormorants overfishing in Estonia.  Some of my favorite posts from the list include

There are 50 total, so go check them out!

This is a pretty crazy month for me!  I have only a week left at my current job, and only 2 weeks left in Philadelphia.  I’ve already begun mourning leaving my apartment, my friends, and this wonderful city, trying to appreciate that moving onto new, exciting things always means a bit of loss.

Next month, I’m trying my hand at professional science journalism through a 4-month internship!  So, moving to NYC and seeing what it would be like to write about science for a living.  I hope I make it out alive…

Tomorrow morning I’m heading down to North Carolina for the Science Online conference!  You can check out the program here: a great list of panels and workshops, including one I’m co-moderating.  I’m very excited!  If you want to keep up with how it’s going down, I’ll try to update my twitter (though I am old-school and don’t have a smartphone … text message tweeting ftw!) or you can follow the #scio11 twitter tag.  I will be live-blogging technically, but the blog I’m writing for will not be up till after the conference – but I’ll shoot out that link when it’s up in case you want to hear my delayed in-the-moment ramblings.

xo

Written by Hanner

January 12, 2011 at 11:04 am

Posted in My life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW! Congratulations, you are so inspirational! Good luck in NYC!

    Laniz

    January 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm

  2. you da bomb

    sam

    January 12, 2011 at 2:53 pm

  3. Good job Hannah. Keep up the great writing. Thanks for the links. “If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster.” — Isaac Asimov

    Rob Mutch

    January 12, 2011 at 3:48 pm


Comments are closed.

