Culturing Science – biology as relevant to us earthly beings

Introducing… Sleeping with the Fishes!

Hello dear readers,

I’m excited to announce a new Hannah Waters production: a marine ecology blog on the Southern Fried Science Network called Sleeping with the Fishes!

I know what you’re thinking.  HANNAH, YOU’RE NOT THAT COOL!  DO YOU REALLY NEED 2 BLOGS?  WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE? WHAT IS THE DEAL?!?

It seems a bit excessive, I know.  But give me a second to explain myself, OK?

You may know that the science blogosphere is changing, and that the people at the top are working to create and manage a number of networks, and then to network those networks.  While independent bloggers are still perfectly acceptable and welcome (Culturing Science will remain independent unless something totally irresistible pops up.), I do like the idea of these networks.  It promotes community between us bloggers and scientists, and could help to increase visibility to science blogs generally and thus promote science education and the sharing of knowledge.

Despite offers, I’ve put a lot of thought into decisions to join (or not join) various networks.  I want to join one(s) that feel right to me, communities that fit my goals and my style.  I would never join a network solely for the increased exposure; that doesn’t feel right to me.

The Southern Fried Science Network is a group of bloggers focusing mainly on marine science (with a few exceptions).  When I got the offer from them, I was ecstatic.  The idea of writing in a community of shared interest and thus trying to create a marine science stronghold on the web is an exciting prospect, and I want to be a part of it.

As you know, I don’t only write about marine science on Culturing Science.  Thus I created a new blog, to keep my writing on the SFSN focused, but also to retain an outlet for writing on other topics.  It doesn’t mean I’m going to abandon this space; not by any means.  That is just about all I can tell you because it’s all that I know.  The rest will unfold with time.

So come along and join me at Sleeping with the Fishes!  I’m excited about this addition to the Hannah Waters brand (haha) and hope you are too.

You should probably subscribe to the Sleeping with the Fishes RSS feed to stay up to date.

Thanks for reading,

Hannah

Written by Hanner

September 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on the new blog! Hope it works out well. And congrats on getting invited there :)

    Lab Rat

    September 27, 2010 at 10:07 am

  2. Good luck on the new venture!

    The Science Pundit

    September 27, 2010 at 2:50 pm

  3. Thanks guys!

    Hannah Waters

    September 27, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  4. The blogosphere has spoken and decreed that you are, in fact, that cool.

    Southern Fried Scientist

    September 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    • That’s probably the greatest thing anyone has ever said to me.

      Hannah Waters

      September 28, 2010 at 7:58 pm

  5. […] Introducing… Sleeping with the Fishes! […]


Comments are closed.

