Culturing Science – biology as relevant to us earthly beings

Oops! RSS feed mishap requires me to self-promote in a separate post

As I warned recently, RSS feeds have gotten a little wonky with the URL change.  So I’ve switched back to the wordpress address, with the .com forwarding here.  It was really an issue of pride and I’m over it – it doesn’t matter much in the end.

BUT!  It means that you guys on the wordpress RSS feed have missed a couple items, one of which has been in the works for the past month and thus I’m eager to share and hear your reactions.

  • The blood n’ sweat post, entitled Inevitability and Oil, Pt. 1: the inherent risk for accidents in complex technology, is my attempt to cast a wider net on the BP oil spill.  The media has mainly focused on nitpicking the details, but I think this “presents an opportunity for us to reflect upon what it means to be a society reliant on complex technologies whose failures can cause disaster.”  Comment or email me and let me know what you think!
  • I also posted a beautiful video of deep sea squids compiled by MBARI

I deeply apologize to the 2 of you on the .com feed who are forced to read these news updates twice.

Speaking of computers… I’m in the market for a new laptop.  This baby is old enough that it’s missing 3 keys (with many others failing regularly, including the “enter” key) and has zero battery.  Love yours?  Hate it?  I need advice!  Seriously.  I cannot even choose what kind of bread to get at the supermarket.  Tips to hannah.waters [at] gmail [dot] com

Thanks for reading!

Hannah

Tweet at me: @CulturingSci

EDIT:  And… this post reset the RSS feed.  And the world is back in order.  Sorry folks.

Written by Hanner

June 22, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

