Culturing Science – biology as relevant to us earthly beings

Saturday procrastination update: science comics!

Right now, I’m working on a paper for a class I’m taking on the intertwined histories of science and religion.  Well, when I say “right now,” I really mean an hour ago, and in the foreseeable future.  For I’ve taken a break to read INTERNET COMICS!

Here are a few science-related comics I thought you might enjoy.

The first, from Hark, a vagrant, on Watson and Crick’s grand discovery, theft, and sexism:

The second, from Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal, actually relates to my paper topic: how the Gaia hypothesis provided a scientific framework for the environmental movement (ecotheology in its extreme form), which it reframed in Judeo-Christian terms.  That’s our man, James Lovelock, the guy who came up with the Gaia hypothesis, in the bottom panel.

Last is BANG!, a full-length comic book (viewable online for free) describing the science of the origins of the universe.  In rhyme!

Enjoy these, and the weekend.  Back to the grindstone…

Written by Hanner

May 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Posted in Art, Link

