Culturing Science – biology as relevant to us earthly beings

Epigenetics: A Primer in Sketches [Link]

Epigenetics.  So hot right now.

I study epigenetics in my lab.  (That’s right, I’m hot.)  When someone asks me what that means, I give the brief definition: “It’s the study of changes in gene expression without a change in the actual DNA sequence.” “Like, molecules or proteins can bind to the physical DNA and affect whether the DNA is transcribed.”  “Y’know?”

If you’re looking for a more technical, yet understandable, explanation, head over to the Sketch Overview of Epigenetics at Genes to Brains to Mind to Me.  The author is a great artist, as you can see above, and the primer gives a good overview of epigenetics basics to keep you hip to the scene.

[Thanks to Genomeweb Daily Scan for the tip]

Written by Hanner

December 17, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Posted in Education

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] can turn a gene “on” or “off,” or change its expression level.  (See here for a primer.)  The article cites several incidents where changes in the epigenome (the full […]

  2. Your BLOG and art is great! Please visit my BLOG on epigenetics at http://georgefebish.wordpress.com

    georgefebish

    November 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm

  3. […] I currently work on.  I study the aging process in yeast cells, focusing on how the cells’ epigenome changes as a cell gets “older.”  We do this research under a federally-funded grant, […]


Comments are closed.

